Cell block J.

1 09 2010

Welcome to baby prison.  Population: Jack.

I installed a baby gate today.  a baby gate…  18.5 months in.   Jack has transitioned into a toddler bed (without much fuss might I add) and that freedom has gone to his head.  The first night he was in it, He woke up at 4am, perhaps he woke up from time to time in his crib as well, but now when he wakes up – it’s his choice to stay in bed or not.

I have been sleeping on the couch since he changed beds, because I have yet to find a decent baby monitor and at 18 months, really dont want to go through the elimination process, it wouldn’t be used long. When he was in his crib I would simply leave his bedroom door and my bedroom door open at nights so I could hear when he got up.  this doesn’t work when he can now leave his room whenever.  So I’ve moved to the couch because the living room was the least dangerous place he could be… or so I thought.  Of course he became a pro at climbing onto the couch the same week we got the bed.  figures.

I’ve gotten up numerous mornings now to him climbing ontop of me ( on the couch), that’s problem number 1.   Problem number 2 is, in our apartment his room is right off the kitchen (also not a place I want him wandering around if he happens to wake up without me) and there is no way to gate the kitchen off from him, unless you gate  his room.  So I did.  Now I can move back to my bed, and he has a safe place to be/play if he has anymore 4 am wake up calls.   Though.. it may become annoying to have to let him in and out of his room when he wants to play… but luckily he sees the living room as his second bedroom and it has a good amount of toys laying around at most times.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 09 2010
Nicole

Way to go, MOM!! score 1 for mom, 0 for jack!

2 09 2010
Karl

This title made me laugh, I love it! 🙂 That’s a nice lookin baby gate, i didn’t know they made black ones. It definitely fits the title though.

Leave a Reply

